Meet Mr & Mrs Doubting Thomas

BY VISHWAS HEATHCLIFF

Cynics can chill and dishearten with a single word. I realised that when I started Write Choice in Mumbai Mirror seven months ago. Many said graphology (handwriting analysis) and graphotherapy (cure through changes in handwriting) won’t sell. I knew it would. But it was indeed hard to argue against the creeps — they always sounded smarter. Initially, my spirits were dampened, as their scepticism befriended my own apprehensions: In this keyboard age, will people actually pen down handwriting samples and post them to me for analysis?

Soon, all speculations were laid to rest. The response was fabulous: I got 11 letters in the first week itself. After that, the flow of mails has been non-stop. Encouraged by the success of the column in Mumbai, we took it to Bangalore Mirror, Ahmedabad Mirror, Metro Now (Delhi) and recently to Pune Mirror. This made Write Choice probably the world’s first column on graphology, which reached about 15 lakh people every week. The response from each centre has been ahead of my expectations. People wrote to me about their problems, they got replies and were benefited — “BIG TIME”.

However, many readers did not join the party from Day 1 and got to know about this Sunday bash recently. They gate-crashed into it and enjoyed themselves, but they always wanted to know more about the science and how it works. For them, I thought of dedicating today’s column to discuss in brief what “con job” (some smarties actually say that!) we do here.

Ok… first of all it’s not a con job: it’s a science that is used in understanding characters of people. And it’s not a recent discovery: it began as early as 1000 BC. Many centuries later, William Shakespeare wrote, “Give me the handwriting of a woman and I’ll tell you her character.” The playwright was not on drugs when he said that. He knew that graphology studies the graphic movements or strokes in handwriting, which correlate to a personality trait within the writer. The brain sends message to the hand to form strokes that reveal who we are, how we think, feel and behave.

Before I started this column, many people did not know that certain changes could be effected in personality through changes in handwriting. This curative offshoot of graphology is called graphotherapy — a means to make conscious alterations in your handwriting in order to effect subconscious changes within yourself. This is a reversal of the normal writing process: now, your hand sends messages to your brain — the root of various ills such as lack of persistence; concentration, frustration and waywardness in sexual life; depression; low self-esteem and inability to get over past affairs. And the way to get rid of these problems is plain ’n’ simple: for a few days, just write in a particular way as suggested by me. That’s it!

Still in disbelief, Mr & Ms Doubting Thomas? Looks like you bought cheap cynicism from the scrap dealer round the corner; it’s rusted. Never mind. You still have hope. Dash off emails to my inbox and get answer to all your queries on graphology and graphotherapy. But if you’re too lazy to use the keyboard, pick up your phone and disturb me. Every Sunday from 10 am to 1 pm (remember, only once a week), I’ll be available on a special number (93236 78590) to let my head be eaten up by your curiosity.

In the meantime, please keep reading Write Choice (for all my past columns, visit our website) and continue making the right choice in your handwriting. Next week, I’ll return with more on handwriting analysis. Till then, sayonara…

3 thoughts on “Meet Mr & Mrs Doubting Thomas

  1. It’s sad to see your column being scrapped..but thanks to the advent of the cyberworld, nothing can scrap it here..

    Will be looking forward to more of your articles..

    Keep up the good work!

    Tejal

  2. Hi Vishwas,
    I can’t believe that you went thro’ this phase before actually bringing Graphology to us. While I was writing out a sample to you for your expert comments, I could myself make out lots of differences in my handwriting.
    This experience has now made my mind considerably calm. I understood that the hand reflects the mind behind it, from your columns. There is a connection which spills it all on the paper.

    Change is permanent. I will pray to the almighty to give you the strength to carry on with this work irrespective of who says what.

    Cheers!!

  3. Hi,

    I’m glad you were able to bring your column on to the web. And I’m sure that it helps those who allow you to help them.

    I must admit that I was sceptical when you wanted to analyse my writing two years ago, but your analysis was so spot-on that I was impressed. The changes you suggested have really helped me professionally and personally.

    Just wanted to say thank you. I’ll still keep on logging in every Sunday to this blog. Keep up your good work. When there’s a will, there’s always a way.

    Sudakshina

Leave a Reply

