I ain’t fair, it’s unfair

BY VISHWAS HEATHCLIFF

One Sunday in March when I was preparing to leave for work, a middle-aged woman from Sion came to my flat for handwriting analysis. She said she “urgently” needed help. I didn’t want to be delayed so we drove in her chauffeur-driven car to my office at CST and finished the analysis through the one-hour journey.

In the car, the woman fished out a handwriting sample from her purse. While I was scanning it, she brought out a postcard size photo of an extremely attractive girl. (I got scared. My father had called me up a couple of days ago, asking me get hooked. I didn’t know whether it was his ploy.)

I gave her a nervous smile, had a look at the photo and returned it to her.

“She’s 20 and she’s my only daughter…,” the woman said even as I examined the sample. When I looked up, I saw her eyes were brimming. “She’s in a problem. Can you help?”

“This girl hates herself.” As soon as I said this, I saw the tears. I resumed: “She feels she’s inadequate in all areas of life. Though she’s so pretty, she hardly thinks so….”

“That’s precisely why I showed you her photograph. Can we do something about it?”

After a detailed analysis, she dropped me at office and left.

I must tell you all that the girl was filled with terrible hatred for herself. She always disparaged herself and had appallingly low self-esteem. During the analysis,

I also discovered that thoughts to end her life had also crossed her mind several times. (Her mother had caught her with several sleeping pills.)

The problem in her handwriting was shown by several self-sabotaging strokes, especially the t-bar which almost touched the baseline and the small size of her writing (pic A). I personally know one such writer who is a looker and has a charming personality. But because she is “not fair”, she doesn’t like herself and believes that people might not want her around because of her complexion.

Anyway, after the analysis, I gave the woman a few handwriting exercises for her daughter, which were aimed at removing self-hurting strokes, and also a special practice set to raise her t-bars (pic B) to lifting her self-esteem.

(A healthy self-esteem enables one to be fair to one’s accomplishments or failures and judge them without bias.) Her mother spoke to me last Monday to tell me her daughter was showing some improvements.
 
IT WILL NEVER WORK
This week, I’m analysing the handwriting (pic C) sample of a Mirror reader who wants to be called CD. This 27-year-old is consumed by thoughts that things are not going to work out according to the plans. He strongly believes that his plans will not succeed and is gradually slipping into depression. CD also fails to strike a conversation with strangers and waits for them to take the initiative. He feels bad about his inability to connect because his need for people in his life is immense. CD is also facing some issues with his mother.

POP A PEN KILLER
CD, write “I must go out, take it and do it” for 15 minutes every day for a month on ruled paper, leaving a margin of one inch on the left. Ensure all your letters rest on the line. In your handwriting, t-bars frequently stop before the stem (pic D). Now, your t-bars should be crossed properly (pic E) with a certain upward slant. Also, your capital ‘I’ should be written as it is seen in pic E.

3 thoughts on “I ain’t fair, it’s unfair

  1. Pingback: SHE FEELS PEOPLE’S EYES ON HER… ALL THE TIME « Write Choice

  2. Pingback: Write Choice by Vishwas Heathcliff » Blog Archive » SHE FEELS PEOPLE'S EYES ON HER… ALL THE TIME

  3. Pingback: She feels people's eyes on her… all the time | Write Choice

Leave a Reply

