MAY I KNOW IF IT’S YES OR NO?

MAY IBY VISHWAS HEATHCLIFF

It’s often said that when a young man complains that a young lady has no heart, it’s pretty certain she has his. I realised the same about my friend George when we met last week. “Rohini is heartless,” he said in a deep voice about the girl he liked. I instantly manufactured seriousness on my face to get my stoic friend to decongest his heart.

“It’s been a month since I’ve been asking her out. I sent her SMSes and also messages through a common friend. But she doesn’t reply. I communicated to her that if she says no, I’ll never bother her. But she just keeps quiet. The other day when I called her up, she agreed to meet, but didn’t turn up on time. I don’t know if I should move on, because she hasn’t yet turned me down….”
Romantic proposals usually meet with a yes or a no, but my friend was terribly upset because he got neither. His annoyance was awful because he hated to wait endlessly (shown in pic A by his angular handwriting with right slant).

One might wonder why Rohini is not giving him a clear answer to his proposal. I guessed three possible reasons: first, she’s waiting for Sun and Moon to marry and go on honeymoon; second, Sherlock Holmes’s grandson whom she has hired to find if George is a paedophile or a psycho is yet to submit his report; and third, she may have what handwriting analysts call the fear of intimacy (George didn’t have her handwriting).
Several factors in a handwriting sample reflect one’s fear of intimacy, such as wide word spacing, a certain left slant, print writing and more importantly, the lack-of-trust ‘y’ (pic B). The thin loop in the letter indicates less mental investment in relationships. Usually someone who writes y’s like this is disinclined to let people inside her heart because she just got out of a bad relationship. If this stroke is coupled with light pressure and lack of margins, the writer feels no need to get involved in relationships and has no time for others.

I didn’t know if Rohini dreaded intimacy or was too busy to reply, but I told George not to be judgmental about her because he didn’t know whether she had genuine reasons to keep quiet. It’s possible that her reply to a similar proposal in the past kicked off an abusive relationship. Makes sense? George said yes.
So, if you write your y’s like this, open it up a bit (pic C) to let others into your world. You’ll feel more relaxed and less uptight.

SALONI’S SAGA

This week we’re analysing the handwriting sample (pic D) of reader Saloni. She is at loggerheads with her family and believes that the world has turned against her. Saloni, I see in your handwriting that most of your problems exist only in your mind. You get utterly defensive when people criticise your ideas and philosophy and then you hit back at them with harsh words, which leads to conflicts. You also feel bad when a friend jokingly passes negative comments on your dress or your general appearance.

POP A PEN KILLER

Saloni, from your signature (pic E), remove the circle around the first letter. Also, write “I will not mind it” 15 minutes every day for one month, non-stop. Ensure loop-less d’s & t’s (pic F). It’ll make you stop thinking that every one is after you to harm you. Also, you’ll become less defensive. All the best!

Leave a Reply

